top of page

The De-Cluttering Epiphany

Today I feel as though I have had a bit of an epiphany.

For months I have been suffering from poor sleep, tiredness and generally not feeling 100%. This morning I walked into my bedroom and finally understood why. The room looked more like an unused storage room than a bedroom.

Since decorating the children’s rooms all the spare/random/crafty stuff has been shoved into

the master bedroom. So not only is there a double bed, bed sides etc the usual bedroom furniture there is also a cot that has not been used for its intended purpose for at least 12 months (and hence is full of other “stuff”!), 3 large plastic tubs of fabrics, two portable draw units full of craft stuff, boxes of books, photo albums, clothes, shoes, kids toys and books (cause you know there room, the lounge, dining and kitchen is insufficient space for them to play!) and much, much more.

This morning I decided enough is enough. Time for a major clean and de-clutter. This is no small task for me as I am a hoarder and struggle to part with all manner of random crap. But today I would not be swayed from my task. I started in my wardrobe – a place many fads have come and gone and today was the day to confront the demons that have been lurking in there for far too long.

Today I have come to realise that since having had 3 children and breast feeding two of them my body shape and weight have changed. Yes I would like to lose 20kgs but even if do (sorry, WHEN I do ;-) ) it is highly unlikely I will want to wear these clothes, that have travelled with me from Adelaide, and through 3 different houses in Sydney, again. Not only do many of them not fit but my tastes have changed, I no longer work in a corporate environment and chasing after 2 energetic kids and working for myself mean I tend to choose comfort over fashion.

To cut a very long story a little shorter, today I have binned 4 bags of rubbish, odd socks, old, tired, worn out clothes and filled 4 bags with decent stuff that I will be putting into a charity bin.

I have dusted, cleaned and vacuumed and even cleaned under the bed!

Don’t get me wrong there is still a lot to do and a long way to go (Don’t get me started on selling the cot – lots of tears there!!) but it feels so good to have made a start.

With love & kindness

Wendy xo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page